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ANAN

To: Business license holder with “Contractor” designation
From: Chip Carden, Executive Director
Re: Limited Home Builders License

The Home Builders Licensure Board (the "Board"} licenses residential home builders. Any builder
who contracts with a homeowner to perform construction work on a residence when the total cost
of the undertaking exceeds $10,000 is required by law to hold a license issued by the Board. The
Board has learned that you and/ or your company currently hold(s) a business license in a field that
may be related to the construction industry. In addition to hoiding the required city or county
business license, you may, by law, be required to hold a home builders license issued by the

. Board.

The Board issues both an UNLIMITED home builders license, and a LIMITED home builders
license. The UNLIMITED home builders license (the standard home builders license) allows the
license holder to perform all residential construction activities, including new residential
construction. Applicants for an UNLIMITED LICENSE are required to pass a written examination
testing experience and ability.

The LIMITED LICENSE DOES NOT require a written examination testing experience and ability.
Instead, an applicant may satisfy the experience and ability requirements for the LIMITED
LICENSE in one of five ways, which are described on the back of this letter.

- However, the LIMITED LICENSE allows the license holder to perform ONLY “repair, improvement,

or reimprovement” construction activities, that is, a single trade construction activity that does not
affect the structural integrity of the residence.

If you contract directly with a homeowner to perform single trade, non-structural construction work,
and the totai cost of the job exceeds $10,000, you may hold a LIMITED LICENSE rather than an
UNLIMITED LICENSE.

YOU DO NOT NEED A LIMITED LICENSE IF:

You are working for a licensed home builder. The licensed home builder contracted with the

- homeowner, and you work as a subcontractor for him.

You currently hold a home builders license issued by the Board. It is an UNLIMITED license;
therefore, you are not required to hold a LIMITED LICENSE to perform single trade, non-

- structural construction.

You are otherwise licensed and reguiated by another state agency and are operating within
the scope of your respective license, such as plumbers, electricians, etc., for clients.

Go online at www.hblb.alabama.gov to download an application packet, or send a written request
for an application packet with the $25.00 application packet fee enclosed, to: Attn: License
Application, Home Builders Licensure Board, P.O. Box 303605, Montgomery, AL 36130-3605.
Please contact the Board at (800) 304-0853 if you have further questions.

J. R. CARDEN, JR.




State of Alabama
Home Builders Licensure Board

Limited License

Any builder who contracts with a homeowner to perform construction work on a residence when the total cost of the
undertaking exceeds $10,000 is required by law to hold a license issued by the Alabama Home Builders Licensure Board.
The Board issues two types of home builder’s licenses: (1) an UNLIMITED home builders license and (2) a LIMITED home
builders license. The UNLIMITED home builders license is the standard home builders license. It allows the license
holder to perform all residential construction activities, including new residential construction, remodeling, and repair,
improvement and reimprovement. One of the requirements for obtaining this license is passing a written examination
testing experience and ability.

The LIMITED home builders license is limited in scope. It allows the license holder to perform ONLY “repair,
improvement, or reimprovement” construction activities, that is, a single trade construction activity that does not affect
the structural integrity of the residence. If the construction activity to be performed involves more than one trade, or
affects the structural integrity of the residence, an UNLIMITED home builders license is required.

“Repair, improvement, or reimprovement” does not include construction activities performed by persons who are
otherwise licensed and regulated by other state agencies and who are operating within the scope of their respective
licenses on behalf of clients, such as plumbers, electricians, etc.

The LIMITED LICENSE does not require a written examination testing experience and ability. Instead, an applicant may
satisfy the experience and ability requirements for the LIMITED LICENSE by showing any ONE of the following:

1. The applicant has performed a single trade, non-structural construction activity on at least one residence in this
state within one (1) year prior to May 31, 2011; that the applicant contracted directly with the homeowner to perform
the construction activity; and that the contract price for the work exceeded $10,000 — submit the copies of the building
permit for the job as proof. If you do not have the building permit, you may submit a homeowner affidavit (supplied
with the application packet).

2. The applicant has performed a single trade, non-structural construction activity on at least five (5) residences in
this state within five (5) years prior to May 31, 2011; that the applicant contracted directly with the homeowner(s) to
perform the construction activity; and that the contract price exceeded $10,000 for each job — submit copies of building
permits for the five (5) jobs as proof. If you do not have the building permits, you may submit a homeowner affidavit
(supplied with the application packet) for each job.

3. The applicant is currently licensed as a residential home builder by a jurisdiction in this state which requires an
examination (testing experience and ability) for such licensure — submit a copy of the license as proof.

4. The applicant is currently licensed as a residential contractor by a jurisdiction in this state and the applicant’s
residential contracting business generated gross revenues of $50,000 or more in the previous calendar year — submit a
copy of the license, and copies of contracts to substantiate the amount of gross revenues claimed.

5. The applicant possesses sufficient building qualifications and experience to receive a license, as demonstrated
by satisfactory evidence presented to the Board — submit a copy of a contractor’s license issued by a municipality,
township, or county in Alabama, that is current or was current within one (1) year prior to submitting the application, as
proof.

Go online at www.hblb.alabama.gov to download an application packet, or send a written request for an application
packet with the $25.00 application packet fee enclosed, to: Attn: License Application, Home Builders Licensure Board,
P.0. Box 303605, Montgomery, AL 36130-3605. You may call the Board at 800-304-0853 if you have questions.
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