How to Get Licensed
order to obtain a State of Alabama Home Builders License, one must:
a. Obtain an
application package by sending a written request along with a check or money
order for $25 to Home Builders Licensure Board. Be sure to state whether
you are requesting an unlimited license application or a limited license
application package. Complete the appropriate
application form and return the notarized application with a check or money
order made payable to the Home Builders Licensure Board in the amount of $305 ($205.00 license fee and $100
new license application processing fee).
package contains a copy of the law and the rules and regulations governing the
Alabama Home Builders Licensure Board. The Board is authorized to license and
regulate the residential construction and remodeling industries in the state,
under the authority of Title 34, Section 14A, of the Code of Alabama.
Please review the “Instructions” page of the
b. To download a printable copy of the new license application package,
click below for the appropriate application package:
Unlimited License Application
The form must then be
completed, signed, notarized and
returned with a check or money order made payable to the Home Builders Licensure Board in the amount of $305.00 ($205 license fee and $100 new license application
Take and pass the
Alabama Home Builders Exam. No authorization is required to take the exam.
order to better serve the needs of each candidate, the Board offers four
testing facilities: Huntsville, Birmingham, Montgomery and Mobile.
TESTING INFORMATION (click to view pdf file)
testing information and registration is available at http//candidate.psiexams.com/index.jsp
Request that a
current credit report on the individual or business who is making application
be sent to the
Board directly from a credit-reporting agency.
(The above link is provided as a
service by the Home Builders Licensure Board. Endorsement of any
particular credit reporting agency is not implied.)
If applying as a
corporation, limited liability company or limited partnership,
Certificate of Good Standing from the Alabama Department of Revenue.
Provide a copy of
the Articles of Incorporation, the Articles of Organization, or the partnership
agreement as applicable.
applying as a corporation, provide a listing of officers.
If applying as a
foreign (out-of-state) corporation, limited liability company or limited
provide a Certificate of Existence from the Alabama Secretary of State.